Home Page About Us Services Photographs Contact Us
About Us
Contact Us



Davaar Drive
Tel 01698 230402
About Us
The 1950’s was a period of great expansion for the Catholic community in Scotland. 1954 St Luke’s Parish was established as a daughter of St Bernadette’s Parish, which had been established as a daughter of Our Lady of Good Aid Cathedral only 4 years before.
In 1954 Braidhurst House was bought from Mr T Miller of the Motherwell Bridge and Engineering Co. Ltd to become the Presbytery. The founding Parish Priest was Father William White, RIP, who built the Church of St Luke’s in 1955, after first using the former coach house adjacent to the Presbytery as a Mass Centre.
Our most famous Parish Priest would have to be His Eminence Cardinal Thomas Winning, RIP, who was Parish Priest from 1966-1970.
1994 saw major reconstruction of the Parish buildings with the renovations of the Church and the building of the current Presbytery. Under the stewardship of Father Daniel Rooney there was a renaissance in the life of the Church. This has been extended over recent years with the arrival of people from across the world, Poland, Philippines, the Caribbean and most recently The Democratic Republic of Congo.
The community of St Luke’s has dwindled over the years of its existence, from around 1,600 at it’s beginning to approximately 600 today. However, St Luke’s remains a jewel among all parishes with a lively and vibrant community who will rival even the largest communities with its sense of her own identity and commitment to each other and the faith and a Church famous for its atmosphere of spirituality and welcome.
Home Page About Us Services Photographs Contact Us